What is international advanced level?

By: Paul LaytonUpdated: April 15, 2021


Site Statistics

  • Questions
  • Answers
  • Categories
  • Last Updated
    June 28, 2022
Pearson Edexcel International Advanced Levels (IAL) are globally recognised qualifications which open doors to top local and international universities worldwide. International A Levels have a modular structure, yet remain comparable to A levels, as confirmed by NARIC*.

Moreover, what is an A level equivalent to?

An NVQ (National Vocational Qualification) is what's commonly referred to as a 'competence-based' qualification. A NVQ at Level 3 is the equivalent to doing A-levels and from there you can go on to study for a higher qualification, such as a foundation degree, HND, HNC or undergraduate degree.

Subsequently, question is, is it a level or a level?

A-levels are the traditional qualifications that are offered by schools and colleges for students aged between 16 and 19. Short for Advanced Level, A-levels come after GCSEs. They usually focus on academic subjects, compared to vocational qualifications like BTECs and NVQs, which are more practical.

What are British A levels?

A-levels (short for Advanced levels) are school-leaving qualifications that are taken by many students in the UK. Students usually choose three or four subjects, and take two years to study for these A-levels between the ages of 16 and 18.

What is Cambridge Advanced Level?

C1 Advanced, formerly known as Cambridge English: Advanced (CAE), is one of our Cambridge English Qualifications. It is the in-depth, high-level qualification that shows you have the language skills that employers and universities are looking for.


WHAT A levels are available?

1. Taking certain A-level subjects will open up more university course options
  • biology.
  • chemistry.
  • English.
  • geography.
  • history.
  • maths.
  • modern and classical languages.
  • physics.

WHAT A levels do Cambridge like?

There are, however, certain A-level subjects that are considered either essential or desirable for a number of courses at Cambridge.

These subjects include:
  • a modern language.
  • Biology.
  • Chemistry.
  • English Literature.
  • History.
  • Mathematics (and Further Mathematics)
  • Physics.

What month are a level exams?

Exam timetables and key dates for the 2020 A-levels
The 2020 A-level exam period runs from Monday 11 May until Wednesday 26 June.

What's GCE Advanced Level?

The General Certificate of Education Advanced Level, more commonly known as the GCE A Level, is a school leaving qualification offered by secondary schools, sixth form colleges and further education colleges in the United Kingdom, some Commonwealth countries, and at many international schools around the world.

How many A levels should you take?

The minimum requirement even for the best universities is that you take three A-levels (excluding General Studies); these will be the basis of your offer. Some students choose to take on additional AS or full A-level subjects, giving them a total of four or five A-levels with which to apply to university.

What is an O level exam?

O level in American English
1. the first, or ordinary, level of standardized examinations in specific subjects taken by British secondary-school students seeking either a General Certificate of Education and university admission or a Certificate only. 2. a pass on any examination at this level.

What is Igcse O level?

IGCSE examination stands for 'International General Certificate of Secondary Education whereas O Level stands for 'Ordinary Level' examination. Let's take a look on IGCSE vs o level: IGCSE exam is given by students worldwide, aged between 14 and 16 years old.

What is a level in India?

Advanced Subsidiary (AS) Level (12 years of schooling), equated to the 11th grade of an Indian Board. GCE 'A' Levels (13 years of schooling), equated to the 12th grade of an Indian Board.

How do A level grades work?

How are A levels graded? A levels are graded in a similar way to GCSEs and graded A*-E. When applying to university, AS level grades (for subjects that were just taken for one year) and final A level grades are converted into UCAS points – with the higher grades scoring higher points.

Is Igcse a level?

The A level examinations are taken up in high school after the IGCSE/ O level. These examinations are called the Advanced Level Examinations. These examinations are also offered by Cambridge Examinations and Pearson Education. Cambridge Examinations offer the Advanced Subsidiary and Advanced Examinations.

Is GCE Advanced Level the same as a level?

GCE Advanced Level (United Kingdom) The General Certificate of Education (GCE) Advanced Level, or A Level, is a main school leaving qualification in England, Wales, Northern Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man. It is available as an alternative qualification in other countries.

How many subjects are in a level?

There are no compulsory subjects and students are free to specialise or study a range of subjects. Giving students the power to choose helps to motivate them throughout their studies. Students typically study four subjects at AS Level and three subjects at A Level.

What are BTEC qualifications?

BTECs are specialist work-related qualifications. They combine practical learning with subject and theory content. There are over 2,000 BTEC qualifications across 16 sectors – they are available from entry level through to professional qualifications at level 7 (equivalent to postgraduate study).

What is Level 7 study?

Level 7 refers to a level of education equivalent to a master's degree, and is generally attained in a centre for further education. Examples of Level 7 qualifications include: Master's degree. Integrated master's degree. Postgraduate certificate in education (PGCE)

Are A levels Level 4?

Level 4 qualifications are: certificate of higher education ( CertHE ) higher national certificate ( HNC ) level 4 award.