Is Taiwan a member of APEC?

By: Nick WueUpdated: February 11, 2021


Site Statistics

  • Questions
  • Answers
  • Categories
  • Last Updated
    June 26, 2022
The Republic of China (Taiwan) joined APEC in 1991 together with China and British Hong Kong. The heads of government of all Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Member Economies meet annually in a summit called "APEC Economic Leaders' Meeting" rotating in location among APEC's Member Economies.

Similarly, can UK citizen apply for APEC card?

In general, an individual must be a passport holder of a participating economy (i.e. citizen) in order to qualify for an APEC Business Travel Card. Singapore Permanent Residents and foreigners will have to apply for the ABTC from their home economies.

Subsequently, question is, can APEC card bring one person?

The short answer is no. Your APEC card is issued to cover business travel. APEC economies may require you to get a separate visa if you're travelling there for tourism or other purposes. If you're travelling with family, your APEC business card will not cover other family members or dependents.

How do I get an APEC card?

How do I apply for a U.S. APEC Business Travel Card Program? You must apply on the Trusted Traveler Program (TTP) website, This is the same website that is used to apply for CBP's trusted traveler programs. Check the box in TTP for the U.S. APEC Business Travel Card.

Why is India not a member of APEC?

India has requested membership in APEC, and received initial support from the United States, Japan, Australia and Papua New Guinea. Officials have decided not to allow India to join for various reasons, considering that India does not border the Pacific Ocean, which all current members do.


What is the purpose of APEC?

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) forum, established in 1989, has become the pre-eminent economic forum in the Asia-Pacific region. Its primary purpose is to promote sustainable economic growth and prosperity in the Asia-Pacific region.

What countries are apart of APEC?

APEC's 21 Member Economies are the United States; Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; China; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; Malaysia; Mexico; New Zealand; Papua New Guinea; Peru; The Philippines; Russia; Singapore; Republic of Korea; Chinese Taipei; Thailand; and Viet Nam.

What is the difference between APEC and Asean?

APEC works to facilitate economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region. ASEAN is one of three official observers in APEC.

What is true APEC?

APEC operates as a cooperative, multilateral economic and trade forum. Member economies participate on the basis of open dialogue and respect for views of all participants. In APEC, all economies have an equal say and decision-making is reached by consensus. There are no binding commitments or treaty obligations.

Why was APEC created?

APEC was established in 1989 in response to the growing interdependence among Asia-Pacific economies and to the need to advance Asia-Pacific economic dynamism and sense of community.

What is the APEC Trade Agreement?

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, or APEC, is the leading forum in the Asia-Pacific to facilitate trade and investment, economic growth, and regional cooperation. Decisions made within APEC are reached by consensus and commitments are undertaken on a voluntary basis.

What is the aim and goal of APEC?

The Bogor Goals help APEC's goal to enhance economic growth and prosperity for the regions by striving for free and open trade and investment in Asia-Pacific by 2010 for industrialized economies and 2020 for developing economies.

Is APEC a free trade agreement?

APEC continues its work on free trade agreements and regional trade agreements (FTAs/RTAs) in the region, towards promoting regional economic integration.

Is Canada part of APEC?

Canada was a founding member of the APEC forum, along with Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Republic of the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and the United States. APEC now comprises 21 member economies: Australia.

Where is APEC 2019?

APEC Chile 2019 would have been an Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) series of meetings in Santiago, Chile. The meetings supposed to focus on the digital economy, regional connectivity, and women's role in economic growth. Chile previously hosted an APEC meeting in 2004.

Do I need a visa for China if I have an APEC card?

Holding a valid APEC Business Travel Card
The APEC Business Travel Card is equivalent to a multiple visa for 5 years. The cardholder may enter China within the validity period of the travel card together with a valid passport consistent with the card. The duration of each stay is up to 60 days or 90 days.

Do you need a visa if you have an APEC card?

ABTC holders granted preclearance by an APEC economy do not need to make a separate application for a visa or entry permit when traveling to that economy.